Return to Programs



Elm Park Pool uses the Pointe Claire Olympic Way lesson levels to teach our children to swim. Swimming lessons are available for all levels of swimmers including adults. Click here for a comparison of the YMCA and Red Cross Swim levels. Check the pool for the schedule.



 Bronze Medallion is a life-saving level that comes before Bronze Cross.  If someone wants to be a lifeguard in the future, they must pass:
1) Their Bronze Medallion with the following pre-requisites:

  • To be at least 13 years old at the final evaluation, or to hold the Bronze Star award
  • To demonstrate the skills and knowledge required for the Canadian Red Cross Junior 10 level

The Bronze Medallion introduces the four basic components of lifesaving: judgment, knowledge, skills, and physical fitness. You will learn defense, release, tow, and carry techniques to be prepared to save conscious and unconscious victims in situations that are increasingly risky. You will also improve your swimming technique and endurance.

2) Then their Bronze Cross with the following pre-requisites:

  • To hold the Bronze Medallion award

If you’re seeking more advanced training and want to know the basic notions of aquatic facility supervision, you need a Bronze Cross award. You will also learn to rescue a spinal-injured victim in the deep part of the pool and a submerged victim in cardiopulmonary arrest.

3) and then their National Lifesaving levels with the following pre-requisites:

  • To be at least 15 years old at the final evaluation
  • To hold a Bronze Cross award
  • To hold a Standard First Aid/AED or an Aquatic Emergency Care/AED award
  • For the Waterpark option: to hold a National Lifeguard – Pool award
  • For the Surf option: to hold a National Lifeguard – Waterfront award

The National Lifeguard award is a national performance standard and the only award recognized throughout Canada that allows its holder to work as a lifeguard anywhere in the country. The course has been developed to better understand lifeguarding principles and develop good judgment and a responsible attitude regarding the lifeguard’s responsibilities in an aquatic facility. You can specialize in the following four options: pool, waterpark, waterfront, and surf.